How to spend less money during a trip to Barcelona

Tomchin

I've already visited Barcelona 5 times, and all of those trips were rather costly (good hotel, taxis, good food, etc.). In the future I plan to travel to Barcelona more often, so I'll have to pay more attention to my budget ;) How much do you guys usually spend when you're in Barcelona for 2 days (let's say arrival Saturday, departure Monday morning)?

1) Trip airport to hotel: Before I always did this by taxi (+- 30 euro). Are there shuttle buses from El Prat to Camp Nou, or otherwise, to a central place like Placa Catalunya (I prefer to avoid the metro for this traject; 'cause you're heavily packed with luggage then, and I've had some bad experiences with pickpocketers in the metro before). Price shuttle bus?

2) Lunch ("Menu del dia"): 10 euro (20 euro Sat + Sun)

3) Supermarket (some snacks, breakfast, drinks and fruit): 25 euro

3) Hotel: Previously I always stayed in places from 100 euro per night. Can you guys recommend some cheaper places? 50 euro per night should be possible in a hostel I think, so let's say 100 euro for 2 nights.

4) Metro: T-10 card (or is a 2-day card cheaper?): 10 euro

5) Dinner (bocadillo or pitta + drink): 5 euro (10 euro Sat + Sun)

6) Ticket game General: 35 euro (average of the games of category A, B, C, D)

7) Ticket flight Ryanair: 70 euro (including transport in Belgium to the airport)

So in total, I think 250 euro is about the minimum for a trip to Barcelona. Did I forget anything special?

Last edited:

JonM

1)You can take the Aerobus to either Plaça de Catalunya, Plaça d'Espanya or Plaça Universitat. It's 5 euros something.

3)Check out Hotel.com or Booking.com. You should be able to find decent rooms in simple hotels for around 50 euros.

oz187

If you are going for a weekend, why do you need a lot of luggage? You could just take a backpack?
There are buses from the airport into the city, 3-5 euros.