Juan Manuel Vargas

La Furia

Legion of Doooom
I thought there was already a Vargas topic, but I can't find it....

Anyway, congratulations to Peru's new captain! :wub:

Hatem Ben Arfa

He is a fantastic talent! I remember first watching him Copa America 2007 and thinking, WOW, this boy is going to be a star!

Newcastle were supposed to sign him, but we lost out to Fiorentina!

He's been fantastic for La Viola. His left foot is amazing! Seeing him strike the ball with it is something to behold! He is a left back by trade but because he is so good attacking, he has played as Left Winger for Fiorentina for many many games now! Maybe his Profile would be even higher had Fiorentina gone through to the CL Semi Final last season instead of Bayern who went thorough because of an offside goal!

But again his left foot is amazing, he hits the ball as hard as Roberto Carlos, but with amazing Accuracy! If he joins Barca, he will put Dani Alves to shame on long distance free kicks!

Oh yeah, anyone remember seeing him almost knock Argentina out of the World Cup qualifying in the last minute. Argentina scored late goal to take them through, and then from the resulting kick off, Vargas does some FIFA 09 glitch, and shoots straight from Kick Off spot, has keeper beat and it hits the crossbar!

Barca should sign Vargas instead of Bale, if they are looking for a left back! Much much better defesnively than bale!

Last edited:

iced1776

Love Vargas, workhorse with a very, very powerful left foot. I was hoping to watch him more this season but Fiorentina hasn't been aired much and I lost a bit of interest in the team after Jovetic was sidelined.

Myrmecophile

Mr. Japes
He's had an awkward season this year: injuries, lack of form, a bit tubby at times.

But he's a really good player generally speaking, hopefully he turns it on at the Copa America.

Hatem Ben Arfa

He's had an awkward season this year: injuries, lack of form, a bit tubby at times.